rosie’s 12 days of blogmas: day 1

First of all, I have a confession to make. I consider myself to be a bit of a Grinch. I always cringe when shopping malls start playing Christmas carols over the speakers. I can’t stand the way gift-giving seems to lose its meaning over Christmas, and it becomes a requirement to give people presents. I’ve never liked the amount of stress that is piled onto people during the festive season. And yet here I am, writing a post for day one of Blogmas. And there is virtual snow on my blog. 

My prompt for Day One of Blogmas is ‘what Christmas means to me’, which is convenient, because I can explain this while also explaining why I’ve even decided to write about Christmas at all. So – this is what Christmas means to Rosie Pebbles, ladies and gentleman. Read on. 


  • First of all, this is not a story of a Rosie who has seen the error in her ways and has decided to shed her green fur coat and stop being a Grinch once and for all. On the contrary, I imagine I’ll always feel this disdain I have for Christmas. 
  • I have reasons. I’m not sulking about it because I’m a teenager with no spirit, etc. It’s actually a pretty stressful time for my family. For one thing, my sisters have to spend half of their Christmas with our dad, so I only get to see them for half the day. For another, we’re a bit short on cash, but we’re still expected to buy all kinds of things. 
  • To me, Christmas means stress and supporting messages of how family is the most important thing (which isn’t always true). That’s what I really think about it. But I can also see the charm in all things Christmassy. I love the Christmas lights, I love the decorations, I love the Christmas food. 
  • The conclusion I have made today is that I don’t dislike Christmas for being Christmas. I dislike it for the way other people force it on us. I dislike the expectations and rules and the pressure to be cheery. I dislike the way there is no consideration for the people who are expected to spend the day with their abusive families, or the people who are terrified of having to sit through Christmas dinner, or the people who have nobody to spend their Christmas with at all. The idea of Christmas in itself isn’t that bad – it’s the way people choose to celebrate it.
  • Which is why Blogmas is happening. Every year I’m distracted by the bad side of Christmas, but I know very well there’s a good side to it, too. This year, I’m determined to focus on that side. So for twelve days, I’m going to post about the parts of Christmas that make me smile. Other people can’t force you to be merry, hence ‘Grinches’ being a thing. But that doesn’t mean that I can’t decide to be merry on my own terms. 

If you’d like to take part in Rosie’s Twelve Days of Blogmas, then leave a comment below and let me know! If anyone is interested, I’ll post a list of the twelve Blogmas prompts I’ve created. It’ll be more fun if you guys join in too! Whether you love or loathe Christmas, I hope you can find ways to enjoy it somehow.

— rosie xxx

Leave a Reply

